2015 Absolut Art Award reveals finalists

The international artists and writers nominated for the biennial Absolut Art Award have been announced.

The five nominated artists for the 2015 Absolut Art Award ’Art Work’ category have been announced. The artists are: Trisha Donnelly, Camille Henrot, Ragnar Kjartansson, Minouk Lim and Frances Stark.

The artists will now have to submit a proposal for a new art work or project for the consideration of an international jury led by Massimiliano Gioni, artistic director at the New Museum in New York and the Fondazione Nicola Trussardi in Milan.

The winning artist, who will be announced on May 8 during the opening of the 56th Venice Biennale, will be awarded a cash prize of 20,000 euros, as well as a budget of 100,000 euros to produce and exhibit a new art work or project.

In 2013 the Absolut Art Award for ‘Art Work’ was awarded to Renata Lucas. Other winners of the biennial award, which was launched in 2009, are Anri Sala (2011), Rirkrit Tiravanija (2010) and Keren Cytter (2009).

The award also recognises writing, with five writers nominated in the ‘Art Writing’ category. This year’s nominees are: Julia Bryan-Wilson, Mark Godfrey, Sarah Lehrer-Graiwer, Helen Molesworth and Dieter Roelstraete.

They will have to submit a proposal for a piece of art writing, with the winning writer receiving 20,000 euros and a budget of 25,000 euros to be used towards the research and production of a new publication.

The nominated artists and writers were selected by a ten-strong panel of international nominators that included Chisenhale Gallery director Polly Staple, Walker Art Center senior curator Clara Kim, and Juan A Gaitan, director of Mexico City’s Museo Tamayo de Arte Contemporaneo.